meggrblog

Haz el bien, y no mires a quién. -Spanish Proverb

’twas the night before Spain

3 Comments

Tomorrow I will embark upon the longest journey of my life to date. I will get on a plane just a few hours from my home, but when I land I will be 4,500 miles away. In a different time zone. A different world. I have told many of my friends and family in recent days that the stress and nervousness has been outweighing the excitement, but that is soon to change. What’s packed is packed, what’s done is done. Now I just have to get on the plane and begin to soak up each moment

My feelings tonight are reminiscent of those I had the night before leaving for my first study abroad trip– a summer program in Costa Rica. One thing I loved most about my entire experience there was that each morning, it was so easy to get out of bed because I knew that a brand new day of great adventure lay ahead. The adventures were both big (zipline tours, surfing) and small (exchanging money, conversing with locals), but all incredibly valuable and stimulating. I savor each and every memory from my month spent there. Even the times that were frustrating, scary or difficult I remember fondly because they were such valuable learning experiences. I’m thrilled to have five entire months to be immersed in a new culture. Five months to call a new place home. Now THAT is pretty rad.

Saying goodbyes has not been fun. I have never been away from friends and family for this long, and I know it won’t be easy. Thank goodness for all of the ways modern technology allows us to stay in touch, even across oceans! I will close tonight with a short video clip of two fluffy friends I will miss very much, my sister’s corgis:

Author: meggr

American expat in Spain. tech enthusiast. fitness fanatic. eclectic musicophile. wine and coffee aficionado.

3 thoughts on “’twas the night before Spain

  1. You’re going to love it! I fully understand where you’re coming from with the Costa Rica comment too… is it cold up north?

  2. I really like the wptouch mobile theme you have installed. You’ve just convinced me to install it! You’re not so bad at this blogging thing!

Leave a Reply

