meggrblog

Haz el bien, y no mires a quién. -Spanish Proverb

Feliz 2012!

Leave a comment

Feliz 2012 a todos!

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday season. I thoroughly enjoyed 17 work-free days (spoiled, I know) during which I rambled all around this fine country–literally from the northern-most extremes (home sweet home, the Basque Country), to mmmarvelous Madrid in the middle, and then 1,500 miles down to Spain’s southernmost properties, the Canary Islands. I took an outrageous amount of photos and videos, so I’m going to let those do the talking for this post.

For starters, I enjoyed 3 action-packed days of island adventures in Tenerife, one of the Canary Islands off the northwestern coast of Africa:

fantastic island colors

Did some whale-watching...another thing to check off the bucket list!

Soaked up some warm sun...they call them "the islands of eternal spring" for a reason!

feeling on top of the world at 12,200 ft: Spain's highest peak, Mount Teide

Here’s the short version of our very long trip up to the top of the very tall, aforementioned mountain:

And here is the rest of the island goodness I captured (winding roads, whales, sunsets on the beach) condensed into a few minutes for your enjoyment:

I got to experience New Year’s Eve in Puerta del Sol of Madrid: Spain’s version of NYC’s Times Square:

I put some miles on the new hiking shoes discovering some new places close to home, such as this sweet castle tucked away in a forest right here in Vizcaya, the province in which I live:

Butrón Castle

It was a fun-filled couple of weeks! I’m back to work now, but already thinking ahead to the next vacation…as one of my coworkers said today, it’s just “seis semanitas (six short weeks)” until our next big break: “Carnival“, for which we’ll have 10 days off at the end of February😀

2012 is going to be another exciting year. One of my resolutions is to dedicate more time to my blog, and with that you will be seeing some exciting changes in the near future. One exciting change is that I will soon be incorporating a couple of my greatest passions (right up there with traveling, of course!) into meggrblog: specifically fitness and tech.

As always, thanks for reading!

¡Hasta pronto, chicos!

Author: meggr

American expat in Spain. tech enthusiast. fitness fanatic. eclectic musicophile. wine and coffee aficionado.

Leave a Reply

